Online course and simulator for engineering thermodynamics

Class structure for heat exchanger off-design calculations

Introduction

Volumes 3 and 4 of the Thermoptim reference manual present the main lines of the extension mechanism of the software package in the form of so-called external Java classes, the last volume focusing more particularly on control and calculations in off-design conditions.

The overall structure is explained in section 3.2.2 of Volume 4. As noted, the instantiation of these external classes is done through a driver, which can be generic or specific.

Guided exploration (DTNN-1) explains how to set up a simple heat exchanger. It deals with the calculation of the surface of an air-water tube and fin heat exchanger. It is recommended to start by referring to it before going further.

Calculation process

The general principle of the calculations is as follows:

  • in sizing mode, once the geometric parameters have been set and the operating conditions of the device have been chosen, a calculation makes it possible to determine the total surface of the exchanger and its possible distribution between different zones if it is a steam generator or a condenser. For example, for a SG, these are the zones corresponding to the economizer, vaporizer and superheater

  • in off-design mode, the inlet conditions being known, the driver seeks a solution such that the total area is the same as that determined during the sizing, but the internal distribution of the surfaces can generally be different. The outlet conditions of the hot and cold fluids are then recalculated.

Organization of calculations

The class used to calculate a single heat exchanger in off-design mode is of the TechnoDesign type, and more particularly TechnoHx, a generic class for heat exchangers.

Each of the two fluids it couples is represented by a TechnoExch class, and each of these defines a flow configuration defined in a FlowConfig class.

The figure below shows a simplified UML class diagram for TechnoSteamGenerator. It illustrates the links between the different classes that are used for calculations.

At the top left appears the TechnoHx. The two classes below are TechnoEvaporator, intended to calculate evaporators, but without taking into account pressure drops, and TechnoSteamGenerator, presented later in this page, which performs the calculations more accurately.

UML class diagram for TechnoSteamGenerator

To the right of TechnoHx is the TechnoExch class. Each TechnoHx instantiates two, one for the hot fluid and the other for the cold fluid. As noted above, each of these defines a flow configuration defined in a Flowconfig class.

In the TechnoExch class we specify the geometric characteristics relating to each fluid, such as the fluid flow area, the hydraulic diameter...

In the FlowConfig the correlations for heat exchange coefficients and pressure drops are specified.

In this class diagram, the FlowConfig associated with the TechnoSteamGenerator class is called TechnoSteamGeneratorConfig. Others are depicted in the figure.

About fifteen FlowConfig classes are available. They are presented in this page of the portal. You can create others simply according to your needs.

Depending on the case, the calculations are carried out directly in the TechnoHx, in the TechnoExch or in the FlowConfig. You have to refer to the code of each class to see how they are chained.

As we recalled above, it is necessary to use a driver to instantiate a TechnoHx and the classes related to it. It may be a generic driver as explained in Guided Exploration (DTNN-1), but it is usually preferable to create a specific driver, of the type shown in the examples relating to the off-design operation of a steam plant or refrigerator.

Example of the TechnoSteamGenerator class

The TechnoEvaporator class is specific to evaporators designed as two- or three-zone exchangers calculated globally.

It makes it possible to calculate the triple exchanger by distinguishing the zones corresponding to the economizer, the vaporizer and the superheater, but has a number of limitations. Although it allows pressure drop to be calculated, it assumes that the pressure is uniform in each of the fluids. It also does not allow to take into account a possible nucleate boiling in the economizer part.

The TechnoSteamGenerator class was developed to address these limitations.

To do this, it implements:

  • a specific calculation of pressure drops that makes it possible to modify the pressures inside the steam generator, the calculations of the Nüsselt number being carried out in the usual way, via the FlowConfig

  • a generic method taking into account nucleate boiling.

The figure below shows the screen of the TechnoSteamGenerator class with a setting adapted to the PWR reactor driver proposed in this portal.

TechnoSteamGenerator screen

At the top appear the choice of correlations (here Saitoh & al. for the exchange coefficient and Sun and Mishima for the pressure drops), as well as the calculation results.

The number of iterations appearing at the top of the screen is a parameter that allows to refine the accuracy of the nucleate boiling calculations, at the cost of the execution time all the greater the higher it is.

In the central and lower part are located the two screens of the TechnoExch, "primary circuit" for hot fluid and "SG" for cold fluid. The two associated FlowConfig are identified by the names of their correlations, "sp_plate | Single phase... " and "Boiling| TechnoSteam... ». Correlation parameters can be viewed and changed.

TechnoSteamGenerator Class presentation note

Remarks

If you would like additional information, please send an email to info@thermoptim.org.

The implementation that has been made of the various correlations of the TechnoSteamGenerator class corresponds to turbulent flow regimes. If you want to study laminar flows, they will need to be completed appropriately.

Since some correlations use surface tension (Friedel, Zhang, Saitoh, Kim & Mudawar, Forster & Zuber), Thermoptim's core condensable vapors have been modified to allow this calculation. If you use some external substances, you will have to complete them either directly by adding the corresponding methods to them, or by modifying the TechnoExch class by incorporating the appropriate methods, coupled with the initLambdaMu() method of the latter.

Also pay attention to the fact that the backups and restores of the parameters are partly from the TechnoHx, and partly from the driver.

copyright R. Gicquel v2022.2

Created with Scenari (new window)

Cours en ligne et simulateur de thermodynamique appliquée

Structure des classes pour le calcul des échangeurs en non-nominal

Introduction

Les tomes 3 et 4 du manuel de référence de Thermoptim présentent les grandes lignes du mécanisme d'extension du progiciel sous forme de classes Java dites externes, le dernier tome se focalisant plus particulièrement sur le pilotage et sur les calculs en régime non-nominal.

La structure d'ensemble est expliquée section 3.2.2 du tome 4. Comme c'est indiqué, l'instanciation de ces classes externes se fait par l'intermédiaire d'un pilote, qui peut être générique ou spécifique.

L'exploration dirigée (DTNN-1) explique comment paramétrer un échangeur de chaleur simple. Elle traite du calcul de la surface d'un échangeur de chaleur air-eau à tubes et ailettes . Il est recommandé de commencer par s'y référer avant d'aller plus loin.

Déroulement des calculs

Le principe général des calculs est le suivant :

  • en mode dimensionnement, une fois les paramètres géométriques déterminés et les conditions de fonctionnement de l'appareil choisies, un calcul permet de déterminer la surface totale de l'échangeur et sa répartition éventuelle entre différentes zones s'il s'agit d'un générateur de vapeur ou d'un condenseur. Par exemple, pour un GV, il s'agit des zones correspondant à l'économiseur, au vaporiseur et au surchauffeur

  • en régime non-nominal, les conditions d'entrée étant connues, le pilote cherche une solution telle que la surface totale est la même que celle déterminée lors du dimensionnement, la répartition interne des surfaces pouvant être généralement différente. Les conditions de sortie des fluides chaud et froid sont alors recalculées.

Organisation des calculs

La classe permettant de calculer en régime non-nominal un échangeur simple est de type TechnoDesign, et plus particulièrement TechnoHx, classe générique pour les échangeurs de chaleur.

Chacun des deux fluides dont elle assure le couplage est représenté par une classe de type TechnoExch, et chacune de celles-ci définit une configuration d'écoulement définie dans une classe de type FlowConfig.

C'est dans les TechnoExch que l'on précise les caractéristiques géométriques relatives à chaque fluide, comme la section de passage, le diamètre hydraulique...

C'est dans les FlowConfig que l'on précise les corrélations pour les coefficients d'échange thermique et les pertes de charge.

Une quinzaine de classes de type FlowConfig sont disponibles. Elles sont présentées dans cette page du portail. Vous pouvez en créer d'autres simplement en fonction de vos besoins.

Selon les cas, les calculs sont effectués directement dans le TechnoHx, dans le TechnoExch ou dans le FlowConfig. Il faut se reporter au code de chaque classe pour voir comment ils sont enchaînés.

Comme nous l'avons rappelé plus haut, il est nécessaire d'utiliser un pilote pour instancier un TechnoHx et les classes qui lui sont liées. Ce peut être un pilote générique comme expliqué dans l'exploration dirigée (DTNN-1), mais il est généralement préférable de créer un pilote spécifique, du type de ceux qui sont présentés dans les exemples relatifs au fonctionnement en régime non-nominal d'une centrale à vapeur ou d'un réfrigérateur

Exemple de la classe TechnoSteamGenerator

La classe TechnoEvaporator est spécifique aux évaporateurs conçus comme des échangeurs à deux ou trois zones calculés globalement.

Elle permet de calculer le triple échangeur en distinguant les zones correspondant à l'économiseur, au vaporiseur et au surchauffeur, mais comporte un certain nombre de limitations. Même si elle permet de calculer des pertes de charge, elle suppose que la pression est uniforme dans chacun des fluides. Elle ne permet pas non plus de tenir compte d'une possible ébullition nucléée dans la partie économiseur.

La classe TechnoSteamGenerator a été développée pour remédier à ces limitations.

Elle implémente pour cela :

  • un calcul spécifique des pertes de charge qui permet de modifier les pressions à l'intérieur du générateur de vapeur, les calculs du nombre de Nüsselt étant effectués de manière habituelle, via les FlowConfig

  • une méthode générique de prise en compte de l'ébullition nucléée.

La figure ci-dessous montre l'écran de la classe TechnoSteamGenerator avec un paramétrage adapté au pilote de réacteur REP proposé dans ce portail.

Ecran de la classe TechnoSteamGenerator

Dans la partie supérieure apparaissent le choix des corrélations (ici Shah pour le coefficient d'échange et Sun et Mishima pour les pertes de charge), ainsi que les résultats de calcul.

Le nombre d'itérations apparaissant en haut de l'écran est un paramètre qui permet d'affiner la précision des calculs d'ébullition nucléée, au prix du temps d'exécution d'autant plus grand qu'il est élevé.

Dans la partie centrale et inférieure sont situés les deux écrans des TechnoExch, «circuit primaire» pour le fluide chaud et «GV» pour le fluide froid. Les deux FlowConfig associés sont identifiés par les noms de leurs corrélations, « sp_plate | Single phase... » et « Boiling | TechnoSteam... ». Les paramètres des corrélations peuvent être affichés et modifiés.

Remarques

L'implémentation qui a été faite des diverses corrélations de la classe TechnoSteamGenerator correspond à des régimes d'écoulement turbulents. Si vous souhaitez étudier des régimes laminaires, il faudra les compléter de manière appropriée.

Certaines corrélations faisant appel à la tension superficielle, les corps internes à Thermoptim ont été modifiés pour en permettre le calcul. Si vous utilisez certains corps externes, il vous faudra les compléter soit directement en leur ajoutant les méthodes correspondantes, soit en modifiant la classe TechnoExch en y incorporant directement les méthodes appropriées, couplées à la méthode initLambdaMu() de cette dernière.

Faites aussi attention au fait que les sauvegardes et relectures des paramètres se font pour partie depuis le TechnoHx, et pour partie depuis le pilote.

copyright R. Gicquel v 2021.9

Réalisé avec Scenari (nouvelle fenêtre)