Online course and simulator for engineering thermodynamics

Credits

Aknowledgements

The development of this portal is the result of work that took place over 10 years and has benefited directly or indirectly from contributions of many people.

It has benefited from comments and suggestions of many fellow teachers:

  • from Ecole des Mines de Paris (Ph. Blanc, D. Fargue, L. Gicquel, D. Lourdeaux, D. Marchio, M. Orphelin, D. Queiros-Condé, Ph. Rivière)

  • the Club ALET (J. Bellettre, P. Chantrenne, R. Carreras, J. Fabre, W. Fürst, J.-L. Harion, J.-C. de Hemptinne, J.-N. Jaubert, X. Joulia, B. Lemoult, P. Nortier, M. de Peretti, Ch. Suzanne, M. Tazerout)

  • EPFL (D. Favrat)

  • preparatory classes for the Grandes Ecoles (S. Faye B. Jouffroy Thermoptim)s (S. Faye, B. Jouffroy and all participants to LIESSE sessions on Thermoptim)

This portal was preceded by websites to which contributed:

  • The ISIGE team (H. Balza, Ch. Bessis, F. Planchard)

  • The 'Ecole des Mines de Nantes (S. Rousseau)

Its design has been greatly facilitated by expert advice and specific developments by IT managers and webmasters of the Ecole des Mines de Paris (M. Albuisson, Ph. Calvet, including L. Ménard, CPS specialist, K. Oliver-Quelennec, N. Boyer).

The whole Thermoptim project could be developed in good conditions thanks to the kindness and support of many leaders of the Ecole des Mines de Paris, the Groupe des Ecoles des Mines and UNIT, including in particular B. Legait, A. Bamberger, S. Cassereau, J.-C. Duriez, D. Gentile, G. Touzot.

It was encouraged and supported by far-seeing publishers ready to support innovation (M. Chabreuil, A. Lallemand and C. Souny of the Techniques de l'Ingénieur, M. Bazalgette, N. Bus, W. Keilholz of CSTB, C. Delamare and S. Dekorsy des Presses des Mines, G. Seijger and A. Bright of CRC Press Balkema).

Support by manufacturers such as Areva (M. Lecomte), EDF (F. David, Ph. Lefevre, B. Leide), Laborelec (S. Blockerye) or Total (T. Renaut) was a key motivator for addressing the difficult topics that are discussed here.

Many students and trainees have also much contributed to the development of Thermoptim and digital resources gathered in this portal, including Mr. Williams, S. Candelier. and B. Liu.

Translations, even partial, were made possible by the work of many contributors (A.-P. de Almeida, M. Asuaje, A. Bright, R. Carreras, M. et M. Gicquel, J. Guisado, B. Leide, A. Meïmarakis, J. Nelles, N. Siebert).

Finally, given the large number of hours it took to develop, all this work would not have been possible without the patience, support and advice of my wife, Dr. F. Hakimi-Gicquel.

Renaud Gicquel

copyright R. Gicquel v2022.2

Created with Scenari (new window)

Cours en ligne et simulateur de thermodynamique appliquée

Crédits

Remerciements

Le développement de ce portail est le résultat d'un travail qui s'est déroulé sur plus de 10 ans, et a bénéficié, directement ou indirectement, de contributions de nombreuses personnes.

Il a profité des remarques et suggestions de nombreux collègues enseignants :

  • de l'Ecole des Mines de Paris (Ph. Blanc, D. Fargue, L. Gicquel, D. Lourdeaux, D. Marchio, M. Orphelin, D. Queiros-Condé, Ph. Rivière)

  • du Club ALET (J. Bellettre, P. Chantrenne, R. Carreras, J. Fabre, W. Fürst, J.-L. Harion, J.-C. de Hemptinne, J.-N. Jaubert, X. Joulia, B. Lemoult, P. Nortier, M. de Peretti, Ch. Suzanne, M. Tazerout)

  • de l'EPFL (D. Favrat)

  • de Classes Préparatoires aux Grandes Ecoles (S. Faye, B. Jouffroy et tous les participants aux stages LIESSE sur Thermoptim)

Ce portail a été précédé par des sites Web auxquels ont contribué :

  • l'équipe de l'ISIGE (H. Balza, Ch. Bessis, F. Planchard)

  • l'Ecole des Mines de Nantes (S. Rousseau)

Sa conception informatique a été grandement facilitée par les conseils avisés et les développements spécifiques réalisés par les responsables informatiques et webmestres de l'Ecole des Mines de Paris (M. Albuisson, Ph. Calvet, et notamment L. Ménard, spécialiste de CPS) ainsi que par sa cellule NTE (K. Oliver-Quelennec, N. Boyer, puis W. Morscheidt, M.F. Curto et N. Vion).

Le projet Thermoptim dans son ensemble n'a pu se développer dans de bonnes conditions que grâce à la bienveillance et au soutien de nombreux responsables de l'Ecole des Mines de Paris, du Groupe des Ecoles des Mines et d'UNIT, parmi lesquels notamment B. Legait, A. Bamberger, S. Cassereau, J.-C. Duriez, D. Gentile, G. Touzot.

Il a été encouragé et soutenu par des éditeurs clairvoyants et prêts à soutenir des innovations (M. Chabreuil, A. Lallemand et C. Souny des Techniques de l'Ingénieur, M. Bazalgette, N. Bus, W. Keilholz du CSTB, C. Delamare et S. Dekorsy des Presses des Mines, G. Seijger et A. Bright de CRC Press Balkema).

La confiance accordée par des industriels comme Areva (M. Lecomte), EDF (F. David, Ph. Lefevre, B. Leide), Laborelec (S. Blockerye) ou Total (T. Renaut) a été un élément de motivation déterminant pour approfondir les sujets difficiles qui sont abordés ici.

De nombreux élèves et stagiaires ont eux aussi beaucoup apporté au développement de Thermoptim et des ressources numériques rassemblées dans ce portail, notamment M. Williams, S. Candelier. et B. Liu.

Les traductions, encore partielles, ont été rendues possibles par le travail de nombreux contributeurs (A.-P. de Almeida, M. Asuaje, A. Bright, R. Carreras, M. et M. Gicquel, J. Guisado, B. Leide, A. Meïmarakis, J. Nelles, N. Siebert).

Enfin, compte tenu du grand nombre d'heures qu'il a fallu y consacrer, tout ce travail n'aurait pas été envisageable sans la patience, le soutien et les conseils avisés de mon épouse, le Dr. F. Hakimi-Gicquel.

Renaud Gicquel

copyright R. Gicquel v2019.2

Réalisé avec Scenari (nouvelle fenêtre)