Online course and simulator for engineering thermodynamics

Productive structures and exergy balances

Productive and dissipative units

Each component of the physical schema is related to a productive or dissipative unit (PDU).

Each PDU allows one to calculate the exergy balance of a componen: each unit gets "fuels" Fi which can be of three types (heat-exergy or chemical exergy, work, or exergy transfer from fluids which flow through it). One or several "products" Pi come out of it. These Pi are of two types (exergy variation of fluids which flow through it or work).

The exergy resources being of three possible types, and the products of two, a productive unit is represented by a rectangle with three inlet ports and two outlet ones, whose colors are differentiated in order to distinguish the various types of exergy flows and to allow to graphically separate resources and products.

The inlet port colors are the following:

  • red for fuel

  • blue for mechanical power

  • green for fluid exergy variation

The outlet port colors are:

  • blue for mechanical power

  • green for fluid exergy variation.

In a productive structure, the PDU are represented by rectangles, whereas lines which connect them correspond to the exergy flows which are exchanged: "fuels" at the inlet and "products" at the outlet.

As an exergy flow can be distributed between several PDUs, it is necessary to introduce what we shall name pseudo-nodes to represent the exergy mixers and dividers. In the productive structure, the mixers (or junctions) are depicted as rhombs, and the dividers (branches) as circles.

The exergy of a fluid going through a component can increase or decrease. If it increases, we shall say that the component is an exergy provider, if it decreases that it is an exergy receiver.

Exergy provider components

An exergy provider is represented by a productive unit with an output junction, with two incoming links: the one going out of the green port of the productive unit (outlet exergy flow), and the one corresponding to the inlet exergy flow.

In this figure, the total exergy available at the outlet of pseudo-node "j_compressor" is the sum of two values:

  • first the exergy flow at the inlet of the component, represented by process-point "air inlet"

  • second the exergy variation of the fluid in the compressor, which gets it under a mechanical form.

The pseudo-mixer or junction "j_compressor" is used to model this addition.

Exergy receiver components

An exergy receiver is represented by a productive unit with a branch at the inlet, with two outgoing links: the one arriving at the green port of the PDU (inlet exergy flow), and the one corresponding to the outlet exergy flow.

On this figure, the total exergy available upstream of the turbine separates in two parts:

  • first the one which is the turbine "fuel" and is converted under a mechanical form

  • second the one which remains available at the turbine outlet.

The pseudo-divider or branch "b_turbine" is used to model this division.

Exergy balance screens

Double clicking the productive unit opens a screen which allows some settings in order to calculate component exergy resources and products, as well as irreversibilities and exergy efficiency, which, by shortcut, we denote by establishing the exergy balance of the component.

The Figure below shows the screen of a turbine PDU whose exergy balance can be determined without specific settings: the exergy resource is provided by the fluid exergy variation (DeltaXh+), the product is the mechanical power (tau+), and the exergy efficiency and irreversibilities are also determined.

When the component is of the exchange type (Figure below), different possibilities exist.

  • If it is a fluid inlet or outlet, which corresponds to a process-point connected only upstream or downstream, its total (physical and chemical) exergy must be taken into account. Note that this may influence the overall balance because the methods of calculating various exergy properties are not the same;

  • If it is a fluid outlet rejected in the environment, the exergy is lost, which corresponds to an irreversibility. If on the contrary this exergy has an external value, it is an exergy product without irreversibility. The exergy calculation screen is provided with an option to specify this (Valuable exergy);

  • When internal heat exchanges occur, as for instance in combined cycles, the exergy loss calculation must also be modified: it is equal, in absolute terms, to the algebraic sum of the exergy variations of both fluids exchanging heat. The component exergy balance screen has an option (Internal exchange) for this setting. We shall see later that, in the overall exergy balance, the exergy variations of both fluids are displayed between brackets, the two exchange processes being grouped next to one another for clarity;

  • Lastly, when heat exchange takes place with an external energy source, the heat-exergy involved must be assessed, which requires the knowledge of the source temperature. This information may be entered in the exergy balance screen. The exergy calculation screen is provided with an option to specify this situation (External Source), and a field for entering the source temperature.

Bilan exergétique d'une transfo échange avec échange interne

Note

Examples of productive structures and exergy balances

Three of these exemples are presented in the getting started guide on the productive structure editor.

Steam power plant

Productive structure

This productive structure is interpreted as follows: the steam power plant is a machine which receives an external exergy input in the boiler, and by internal recycling, exergy is provided to the pump, which are the two production units in the left of the screen. This exergy is partly converted into mechanical form in the turbine and partly dissipated in the condenser. The net work is the fraction of mechanical power not recycled.

Exergy balance

Cogeneration gas turbine

Productive structure

This production structure is interpreted as follows: the gas turbine receives a chemical exergy supply from the fuel, and by internal recycling, exergy is provided to the compressor. This exergy is converted partly into mechanical form in the turbine and partly into heat in the recovery steam generator HRSG, the remainder being dissipated by discharge into the atmosphere. The net work is the fraction of mechanical power not recycled.

Exergy balance

Combined cycle

Productive structure

The combined cycle production structure is interpreted as follows: the gas turbine receives a chemical exergy supply from the fuel, and by internal recycling, exergy is provided to the compressor. This exergy is converted partly into mechanical form in the turbine and partly transmitted to the steam cycle by the exchangers the heat recovery steam generator HRSG, the remainder being dissipated by discharge into the atmosphere. The latter cycle also receives, by internal recycling, a supply of exergy for the liquid compression. The available exergy is partially converted into the steam turbine, the rest being dissipated in the condenser.

Exergy balance

Refrigeration cycle

Productive structure

This production structure is interpreted very simply: the refrigerating machine receives an external exergy input in the compressor. This exergy is partly converted into the evaporator (refrigeration effect), the rest being dissipated in the condenser and the expansion valve (throtlling).

Exergy balance

Two stage total injection refrigeration cycle

Productive structure

This production structure is interpreted very simply: the refrigerating machine receives an external exergy input in the two compressors. This exergy is partly converted into the evaporator (refrigeration effect), the rest being dissipated in the condenser and the expansion valves (throtlling).

Exergy balance

Reference

Valero, A., Serra, L., Uche, J., Fundamentals of thermoeconomics, lectures 1-3, Euro summer course on sustainable assesment of clean air technologies, which can be downloaded from the CIRCE Web site.

Thermoptim reference manual, Volume 4.

The document below explains how the various types of components most generally used in energy systems (which are included in Thermoptim's core) can be represented as PDUs.

representationUPD-en.pdf

copyright R. Gicquel v2021.6

Created with Scenari (new window)

Cours en ligne et simulateur de thermodynamique appliquée

Structures productives et bilans exergétiques

Unites productives et dissipatives

A chaque composant du schéma physique correspond une unité productive ou dissipative (UPD).

Chaque UPD permet de dresser le bilan exergétique du composant : chaque unité reçoit des "combustibles" Fi qui peuvent être de trois types (exergie-chaleur ou exergie chimique, travail, ou encore exergie cédée par les fluides la traversant). Il en sort un ou plusieurs "produits" Pi, qui sont de deux types (travail ou augmentation d'exergie des fluides la traversant ).

Les ressources exergétiques étant de trois types possibles, et les produits de deux, une unité productive est représentée dans Thermoptim par un rectangle muni de trois ports d'entrée et deux de sortie, dont les couleurs sont différenciées pour distinguer les différents types de flux exergétiques et permettre de distinguer graphiquement les ressources et produits.

L'affectation des couleurs est la suivante pour les ports d'entrée :

  • rouge pour l'exergie chimique (combustibles)

  • bleu pour la puissance mécanique

  • vert pour l'exergie cédée par un fluide

Pour les ports de sortie :

  • bleu pour la puissance mécanique

  • vert pour l'exergie reçue par un fluide.

 Dans une structure productive, les UPD sont représentées par les rectangles, tandis que les lignes qui les relient correspondent aux flux d'exergie qui sont échangés : "combustibles" en entrée et "produits" en sortie.

Etant donné qu'un flux d'exergie peut être partagé entre plusieurs UPD, il est nécessaire d'introduire des pseudo-nœuds pour représenter les mélanges et les répartitions d'exergie. Dans la structure productive, les mélangeurs (ou jonctions) ont la forme de losanges, et les diviseurs (embranchements) celle de cercles.

L'exergie du fluide qui traverse un composant peut augmenter ou diminuer. Si elle augmente, il s'agit d'un extenseur d'exergie, si elle diminue il s'agit d'un réducteur d'exergie.

Composants extenseurs d'exergie

Un extenseur est représenté par une unité productive avec une jonction en sortie, à laquelle arrivent deux liens : celui issu du port vert de l'unité productive (flux exergétique de sortie), et celui correspondant au flux exergétique d'entrée.

Sur cette figure, l’exergie totale disponible en sortie du compresseur est la somme de deux valeurs :

  • d’une part le flux exergétique en entrée du composant, représenté par la transfo-point "entrée d’air", 

  • d’autre part la variation d’exergie communiquée au fluide dans le compresseur, lequel la reçoit sous forme mécanique.

Le pseudo-mélangeur ou jonction "j_compresseur" sert à modéliser cette sommation.

Composants réducteurs d'exergie

Un réducteur est représenté par une unité productive avec un embranchement en entrée, dont partent deux liens : celui aboutissant au port vert de l'unité productive ou dissipative (flux exergétique d'entrée), et celui correspondant au flux exergétique de sortie.

Sur cette figure, l’exergie totale disponible en amont de la turbine se décompose en deux parties :

  • d’une part celle qui sert de "combustible" à la turbine et est convertie sous forme mécanique

  • d’autre part celle qui reste disponible en sortie de turbine.

Le pseudo-diviseur ou embranchement "b_turbine" sert à modéliser cette répartition.

Ecrans de bilan exergétique

Un double-clic sur l'unité productive ouvre  un écran de bilan exergétique de composant, qui permet de préciser certains paramétrages en vue de calculer les ressources et les produits exergétiques, ainsi que les irréversibilités et le rendement exergétique du composant (cf. figures ci-dessous).

Bilan exergétique d'un composant turbine

La figure ci-dessus montre l'écran d'un composant turbine : la ressource exergétique provient de la variation d'exergie du fluide qui le traverse (DeltaXh+), le produit est la puissance mécanique (tau+), l'efficacité exergétique et la valeur des irréversibilités sont aussi déterminées.

Bilan exergétique d'une transfo échange avec échange interne

Lorsque le composant est du type " échange", différentes possibilités existent :

  • lorsqu'il s'agit d'une entrée ou une sortie de fluide, ce qui correspond à une transfo-point reliée uniquement en amont ou en aval, son exergie doit être comptabilisée dans le bilan, en déterminant sa contribution exergétique par rapport aux conditions de référence ;

  • s'il s'agit d'une sortie de fluide avec rejet dans l'environnement, l'exergie est perdue, ce qui constitue une irréversibilité. Si au contraire cette exergie est valorisée en externe, il s'agit d'un produit exergétique sans irréversibilité ;

  • lorsqu'il y a des échanges de chaleur internes, comme c'est le cas dans les cycles combinés, le calcul de la perte exergétique demande aussi à être modifié : elle est égale, en valeur absolue, à la somme des variations d'exergie des deux fluides qui échangent de la chaleur. L'écran des bilans exergétiques de composant comporte une option ( Internal exchange) pour spécifier ce paramétrage, et, dans le bilan exergétique global, les variations d'exergie des fluides concernés sont indiquées entourées de parenthèses, les deux transfos d'un échangeur étant regroupées l'une à côté de l'autre pour plus de clarté ;

  • enfin, lorsque l'échange de chaleur a lieu avec une source d'énergie externe, l'exergie-chaleur mise en jeu doit être évaluée, ce qui suppose que la température de la source soit connue. L'écran de calcul est muni d'une option permettant de spécifier cette situation ( External source), et d'un champ destiné à entrer la température de la source.

Remarque

Exemples de structures productives et bilans exergétiques associés

Trois de ces exemples sont présentés dans le guide de prise en mains de l'éditeur de structures productives.

Centrale à vapeur

Structure productive d'un cycle à vapeur

Cette structure productive s'interprète de la manière suivante : la centrale à vapeur est une machine qui reçoit de l'extérieur un apport d'exergie au niveau de la chaudière, et, par recyclage interne, un apport d'exergie au niveau de la pompe, qui sont les deux unités productives à gauche de l'écran. Cette exergie est pour partie convertie sous forme mécanique dans la turbine et pour partie dissipée dans le condenseur. Le travail net correspond à la fraction de puissance mécanique non recyclée.

Bilan exergétique pour le cycle à vapeur obtenu à partir de la structure productive

 Turbine à gaz avec cogénération

Structure productive

Cette structure productive s'interprète de la manière suivante : la turbine à gaz reçoit du combustible un apport d'exergie chimique, et, par recyclage interne, un apport d'exergie au niveau du compresseur. Cette exergie est convertie pour partie sous forme mécanique dans la turbine et pour partie sous forme thermique dans le générateur de vapeur récupérateur HRSG, le reliquat étant dissipé par rejet dans l'atmosphère. Le travail net correspond à la fraction de puissance mécanique non recyclée.

Bilan exergétique

Cycle combiné

Structure productive

La structure productive du cycle combiné s'interprète de la manière suivante : la turbine à gaz reçoit de l'extérieur un apport d'exergie au niveau de la chambre de combustion, et, par recyclage interne, un apport d'exergie au niveau du compresseur. Cette exergie est pour partie convertie dans la turbine et rejetée à l'extérieur dans les gaz d'échappement, et pour partie transmise au cycle à vapeur par les échangeurs du générateur de vapeur récupérateur. Ce cycle reçoit aussi, par recyclage interne, un apport d'exergie au niveau de la compression liquide. L'exergie disponible est partiellement convertie dans la turbine à vapeur, le reste étant dissipé dans le condenseur.

Bilan exergétique

Machine frigorifique

Structure productive

Cette structure productive s'interprète très simplement : la machine frigorifique reçoit de l'extérieur un apport d'exergie au niveau du compresseur. Cette exergie est pour partie convertie dans l'évaporateur (effet frigorifique), le reste étant dissipé dans le condenseur et  le détendeur (laminage).

Bilan exergétique

Cycle de réfrigération bi-étagé à injection totale

Structure productive

Cette structure productive s'interprète comme ceci : la machine frigorifique reçoit de l'extérieur un apport d'exergie au niveau des deux compresseurs. Cette exergie est est pour partie convertie dans l'évaporateur (effet frigorifique), le reste étant dissipé dans le désurchauffeur et le condenseur et les détendeurs (laminages).

Bilan exergétique

Référence

Valero, A., Serra, L., Uche, J., Fundamentals of thermoeconomics, lectures 1-3, Euro summer course on sustainable assesment of clean air technologies, téléchargeable sur le site Web du CIRCE.

Tome 4 du manuel de référence de Thermoptim.

Le document ci-dessous présente un tableau montrant comment les différents types de composants du noyau de Thermoptim sont représentés sous forme d'UPD.

representationUPD.pdf

copyright R. Gicquel

Réalisé avec Scenari (nouvelle fenêtre)